Towards the end of the 12th century, a 'large waste called The Common' was given to the people of Torrington. In 1889, the rights to this land were transferred by an act of parliament to an elected Committee of Conservators. The common is freely accessibly to all, and visitors can walk the twenty miles of footpaths, ranging from the golf course in the north, ancient wood and wild flower meadow in the west, and dropping down to the beautiful river Torridge valley to the south of the town.
Torrington's South Street and Sydney House car parks give direct access to the Commons, and there is a car park and a public toilet block at the Old Bowling Green.
Visit http://www.torringtoncommon.co.uk/ for more information on Torrington Commons, its diverse wildlife and flora.